Loading…
This event has ended. View the official site or create your own event → Check it out
This event has ended. Create your own
The Word on Ticketing
Wordstock Book Fair tickets: Advance/$9  Door/$11  Student/$5  Ages 0-13: FREE book fair tickets get you into every book fair thing except: 

Wordstock for Writers Workshops. Workshop tickets include FREE same-day book fair admission and can be purchased within workshop listings below. click here for book fair tickets and more
 
View analytic
avatar for Melanie Thorne

Melanie Thorne

Bio:
Melanie Thorne is the author of Hand Me Down, a debut novel in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, named a Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction Book of 2012, a 2013 YALSA Alex Award nominee, and the top honorable mention in the San Francisco Book Festival fiction prize. Melanie earned her MA in Creative Writing from the University of California, Davis, and has been awarded the Alva Englund Fellowship, the Maurice Prize in Fiction, and a residency at the Hedgebrook Writer’s Retreat. Born and bred in northern California, she currently lives in Los Angeles, where she teaches writing and is hard at work on her second novel. You can find her online or on Twitter.


Hand Me Down


A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave.

My Writers Sessions

Sunday, October 6
 

11:00am

2:00pm