Loading…
The Word on Ticketing
Wordstock Book Fair tickets: Advance/$9  Door/$11  Student/$5  Ages 0-13: FREE book fair tickets get you into every book fair thing except: 

Wordstock for Writers Workshops. Workshop tickets include FREE same-day book fair admission and can be purchased within workshop listings below. click here for book fair tickets and more
 
Sunday, October 6 • 11:00am - 12:00pm
Writing for Children and Teens

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

Creating memorable recurring characters, inventing fantasy worlds, and exploring weighty cultural issues: writing for children and teens is an art unto itself. Four authors discuss the joys and challenges in their work.

Moderators
avatar for Cidney Swanson

Cidney Swanson

Author
Bio:Cidney Swanson is a full-time writer of Young Adult Sci-Fi and Fantasy including The Rippler Trilogy and The Saving Mars Series. SAVING MARS was named to Kirkus Reviews Best of 2012. When she’s not writing, Cidney is distracted by shiny things such as books with raised foil... Read More →

Writers
avatar for Tad Hills

Tad Hills

Bio:Tad Hills is the author and illustrator of the highly acclaimed New York Times bestselling picture books How Rocket Learned to Read, Rocket Writes a Story, Duck & Goose, and Duck, Duck, Goose. His board books include the ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book What's Up, Duck... Read More →
avatar for Matthew J Kirby

Matthew J Kirby

Bio:Matthew J. Kirby is the critically acclaimed and award-winning author of the middle grade novels The Clockwork Three, and Icefall, as well as The Lost Kingdom and Book 5 in the Infinity Ring series, both forthcoming in fall 2013. He was named a Publishers Weekly Flying... Read More →
avatar for Jane Smiley

Jane Smiley

Jane Smiley won the Pulitzer Prize for her novel, A Thousand Acres, and was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Horse Heaven. She is the author of thirteen novels for adults, five novels for young adults, and five works of non-fiction, including The Man Who Invented the Computer... Read More →
avatar for Melanie Thorne

Melanie Thorne

Bio:Melanie Thorne is the author of Hand Me Down, a debut novel in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, named a Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction Book of 2012, a 2013 YALSA Alex Award nominee, and the top honorable mention in the San Francisco Book Festival fiction... Read More →


Sunday October 6, 2013 11:00am - 12:00pm
National Endowment for the Arts Stage OCC

Attendees (0)